Meet Dustin King!


This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I think the most fulfilling thing about being a teacher is making a difference in a student’s life. There is no better feeling than watching a student develop skills in my class that I know, unequivocally, will serve them later in life.

Zee Alrubaye

Sorry for the impromptu break from our staff introduction articles, The Voice of the Warriors readers! This week, we’re introducing Language Arts teacher, Mr. King!


Q: What attracted you to working at Aloha High School?

A: Aloha’s Language Arts department (and the entire Beaverton School District, for that matter) is doing some really revolutionary things to try to get kids to be better readers and writers. I really believe in these new methods, so it’s a perfect fit for me.

Q: What do you like most about coming to work every day?

A:  I really like that I get paid to be a lifelong learner; I learn new things from my students every day.

Q: Have you ever lived anywhere else besides Oregon?

A: For a really short time, I lived in the Inland Empire region of Southern California. The weather was nice, but the lack of seasons really got to me, so I moved back to Portland pretty quickly.

Q: What is one word that best describes you?

A: Optimistic!

Q: Do you have any odd or awesome hobbies or talents you’d like to share?

A: I don’t know if it’s a talent, but I have a pretty ridiculous database of useless trivia in my head that I put to the test by watching Jeopardy every evening.

Q: Why did you want to work in education?

A: I wanted to become a teacher because I’ve always enjoyed working with young people. No matter how things in my personal life are going, I’ve always enjoyed working with young people (as a coach, tutor, and now a teacher). Most importantly, I think I’m pretty good at it, so choosing to work in education was a no-brainer.

Q: What’s the most fulfilling thing about your job?

A: It sounds cheesy, but I think the most fulfilling thing about being a teacher is making a difference in a student’s life. There is no better feeling than watching a student develop skills in my class that I know, unequivocally, will serve them later in life. It’s the best.

Q: What’s the most amazing thing you’ve ever seen?

A: Last summer, my friends and I went hiking up to Colchuk Lake, near Leavenworth, Washington. We hiked four miles into the lake, which doesn’t sound so bad until you realize that it’s also about a mile up. It was the most difficult, but also rewarding hikes I have ever had the pleasure of doing. When we reached the top, we were greeted by the stunning and aptly named Dragon’s Tail Peak, and we swam in a beautiful blue alpine lake. The blue of the water was unlike any variation of the color I had ever seen before, and I’m struggling to appropriately describe it even now.

The blue of the water was unlike any variation of the color I had ever seen before.

 

Note: Answers have been edited for length and/or clarity.

Leave a Reply!

