Meet Skip Reese!


Welcome back guys, I hope you’ve enjoyed your six day weekend. Hopefully, you’ve taken advantage of that time to study for your finals. (I know I haven’t…) Anyway, we’re back this week to introduce you to Howard Reese, AKA Skip Reese.

 

 

00000027

Mr. Reese smiling for the camera. (Photo: Jennifer Jasso)

 

So many students say “I hate math,” but once they get it they realize that they don’t hate it at all!

 

Q: What attracted you to working at Aloha High School?

A: The people! It’s great to see the students accept each other for who they are, even if they walk slowly in the hallways holding everyone up.

Q: What do you like most about coming to work every day?

A:  For the most part, everyone enjoys being here! There is something to be said about working in a place with such a kind community, in spite of how much students overcome in your personal lives.

Q: Have you ever lived anywhere else besides Oregon?

A:  I grew up in Atlanta, Georgia. After that, I lived in San Antonio, Texas for 4 years. Atlanta was awesome! I’ve had so many interesting conversations with strangers in Atlanta. so many friendly people; plus, there’s just this unexplainable SWAGGER about Atlanta. San Antonio was cool too but good gracious does it gets hot. The food is amazing; my life improved so much after my first sip of Horchata.

Q: What is one word that best describes you?

A: Goofy! (I mean one of my favorite movies of all time is A Goofy Movie).

Q: Do you have any odd or awesome hobbies or talents you’d like to share?

A: Now that I live in Oregon, I feel like I should say camping is my hobby. I do Sudoku puzzles at home. I’m also getting back into chess, although I’m not a very good strategizer.

Q: Why did you want to work in education?

A: It’s hard finding a job that’s this fun! Plus, there’s something special about seeing a student’s face when they finally understand something.

Q: What’s the most fulfilling thing about your job?

A: Watching a student gain confidence in their math abilities! So many students say “I hate math,” but once they get it they realize that they don’t hate it at all!

Q: What’s the most amazing thing you’ve ever seen?

A: Obama’s inauguration. The whole ceremony was something you knew was a historical moment but the poetry was amazing.

Obama’s inauguration. The whole ceremony was something you knew was a historical moment but the poetry was amazing.

Note: Answers have been edited for length and/or clarity.

One response to “Meet Skip Reese!

Leave a Reply!

