Meet Vinh Pham!


Zee Alrubaye

We’re back this week to introduce you to Dr. Vinh Pham.

 

00000024.jpg

Dr. Pham smiling for the camera. (Photo: Jennifer Jasso)

 

I’m a country western dancer.


Q: What attracted you to working at Aloha High School?

A: I went to a school that was very similar demographically to AHS. When I was interviewing, this was a major selling point.

Q: What do you like most about coming to work every day?

A:  I get to work with students who one day will change the world.

Q: Have you ever lived anywhere else besides Oregon?

A: I grew up in the South. Although there are certainly cultural differences, I like experiencing the differences. Portland is a prime example of this!

Q: What is one word that best describes you?

A: Adaptable.

Q: Do you have any odd or awesome hobbies or talents you’d like to share?

A: I am a country western dancer.

Q: Why did you want to work in education?

A: “Want” implies a reason. There is no reason. I became a teacher because it is my calling. 

Q: What’s the most fulfilling thing about your job?

A: Years after the fact, I get emails and/or letters from former students about how I made a difference in their lives.

Q: What’s the most amazing thing you’ve ever seen?

A: I saw my sifu (a title for and role of a skillful person or a master) get into a fight with his wife, who’s also a martial artist. It was better than any movie fight, absolutely jaw-dropping amazing.

I saw my sifu get into a fight with his wife, who’s also a martial artist. It was better than any movie fight, absolutely jaw-dropping amazing.

Note: Answers have been edited for length and/or clarity.

Leave a Reply!

