Meet Kandra Luna!


Zee Alrubaye

This week, we meet another one of our lovely new staff members: Miss Kandra Luna, who works in the AHS Attendance Office and assists in the Health Room!

luna

Miss Luna in the Main Office!*

I’m an actor and I’ve been lucky enough to have played roles in several commercials, movie pilots, and the TV shows Grimm, The Librarians, Portlandia, and Big Sky.

 

Q: What attracted you to working at Aloha High School? In other words, what set AHS apart from other schools?

A: Aloha is a truly unique place. When I was in high school, I had friends who went here and I always attended Aloha football games. The diversity, openness, and support from the students and staff was always very refreshing. I went to Tigard High School, and it was very strict, which did not encourage diversity or a warm environment. Aloha has always been opposite of that, which I greatly appreciate and love.

Q: What do you like most about coming to work every day?

A: I love how it’s different every day and the environment I work in.

Q: Have you ever lived anywhere else besides Oregon?

A: I have never lived outside of Oregon, I love the fact that it’s liberal and I would never want to live anywhere else.

portland-oregon-sign

The famous Portland sign in Old Town.

 

Q: What is one word that best describes you?

A: Positive!

Q: Do you have any odd or awesome hobbies or talents you’d like to share?

A: I’m an actor and an active member of the Native American Entertainment Coalition. I’ve been lucky enough to have played roles in several commercials, movie pilots, and the TV shows Grimm, The Librarians, Portlandia, and Big Sky.

Q: What’s the most amazing thing you’ve ever seen? 

A:  When I was in a pow wow, I was performing a ceremonial healing with some other women for our tribe. The beat of the music, love for our ancestors, and beauty of our tribe was thick in the air, and was truly amazing.

 

*Photographed by Kiara Yin-Husband.

Note: Answers have been edited for length and/or clarity.

Leave a Reply!

